RV Travel

The modern motorhome gives you the opportunity to travel as a family without giving up the comforts of home. There are many RV accessories to help make your trip even more enjoyable. We would like to recommend the best of them to you.

Looking for the best Rv Sealant? You are in the right place! In this article we have listed the 10 models, which have the best ratings and are appreciated by the people who use them.

In order for our rating to be the most objective, our choices are based on certain criteria.
Our selection criteria are based on brand quality, technical characteristics, customer satisfaction and price/performance ratio.

It took us 181 hours to research options from different brands and we consulted with experts to compile this Top10 list of Rv Sealants on the market.

So as not to waste your time, let’s move on to our Top 10 best Rv Sealants of the moment!

We may receive a commission for the links on this page, but we only recommend the best products in their category.

Top 10 Best Rv Sealant




The Best Rv Sealant

Liquid Rubber RV Roof Coating - Solar Reflective Sealant, Trailer and Camper Roof Repair, Waterproof, Easy to Apply, Brilliant White,1 Gallon

★★★★★
$79.95  in stock
Amazon.com
as of 10/04/2021 18:29

Here’s what we found out:

Manufacturer ‎Liquid Rubber USA
Brand ‎L R
Item Weight ‎9 pounds
Product Dimensions ‎8 x 8 x 8 inches
Item model number ‎14101
Is Discontinued By Manufacturer ‎No
Manufacturer Part Number ‎14101
Special Features ‎Waterproof

  • FLEXIBLE RV ROOF COATING - Solar reflective, cool roof & UV resistant, Final membrane has over 1000% elongation preventing adhesion failure, and is UV Stable stopping the sun from degrading the product
  • PROTECTIVE SEALANT FOR - RV roofs, metal roofs, flat roofs around the home, mobile homes, campers, trailer, gutters, sheds, foundations, planter boxes interior basements, fences, stucco, wood, concrete, metal and more!
  • EASY TO APPLY - Just like painting! Apply by... Show User Reviews

    User Reviews

    My RV rubber roof is 12 years old now. Hasn't had much done to it other than some Dicor around the seems of vents and antenna. Had a small leak around antenna during a driving rain so I decided I needed to get proactive. Heard about this stuff but was somewhat reluctant because there are several types to choose from. After cleaning the roof with Simple Green HD, I purchased the Eternanond tape and went around all seams and edges. Then the next day I put on two coats of this liquid rubber coating. All I can say is WOW! I now have one solid layer of new rubber around every nook and cranny and the whole roof. It looks great and feels great too! Hope it lasts as long as it appears that it will.
    I'm a mobile RV tech. I do 2 or 3 roof reseal jobs a week. I had always used Henry's, dicor or hengs but thought I'd give this a try because I go through so much it was convenient to get 5 gallons. In my opinion it had poor coverage and remains more sticky for longer than the others. this pic is from a roof job I finished about 2 hours from sunset. the moisture from the night air, settling on the roof, was enough to dissipate the paint. I had to redo this roof job. also, who wants to lug 5 gallons up a roof, or transfer paint to a smaller bucket and have even more stuff to clean. meh now i use Henrys 887 for all roof jobs. One coat and im done
    So far it worked as advertised, I applied two coats on a mostly overcast day at around 65°. It set quickly and all was looking good until the temperature fell below 45° two nights in a row and there was precipitation which caused a few spots to not adhere properly. I will have to apply a third coat in order to get total coverage but the parts that did stick are looking great.If possible when applying follow the directions, particularly when it comes to weather.Other than that it was very easy to apply, rolled on with a standard paint roller and brush for the edges. I will update my review when I apply my follow up coats.

    View all reviews

Class A Customs 1 Case of 12 Tubes RV Self Leveling Caulk for RV Camper Rubber Roof Repair

★★★★★
 in stock
Amazon.com
as of 10/04/2021 18:29

Here’s what we found out:

Manufacturer ‎classAcustoms
Brand ‎ClassAcustoms
Item Weight ‎6 pounds
Item model number ‎1826-ESK-WH
Is Discontinued By Manufacturer ‎No
Manufacturer Part Number ‎CAC-SL12PK

  • 1 Case of 12 Tubes / with removable screw on tips
  • COLOR White
  • Self Leveling for use on Roofs
  • Specially fomulated for use on RV rubber membrane roofs
  • Works with EPDM, TPO, and PVC rubber membranes
Show User Reviews

User Reviews

great job

View all reviews

Class A Customs | RV Camper Rubber Roofing 8.5' Wide by 15' Long White Textured EPDM with Install kit | CAC-E85X15-K

★★★★★
$70.25  in stock
Amazon.com
as of 10/04/2021 18:29

Here’s what we found out:

Manufacturer ‎Class A Customs
Brand ‎Class A Customs
Is Discontinued By Manufacturer ‎No
Manufacturer Part Number ‎CAC-E85X15-K

  • MEMBRANE SIZE – 8.5 ft. (102 inches) wide X 15 ft. long.
  • 4 Tubes of Self-Leveling Sealant (10.1 oz)
  • 2 Rolls of Putty Tape (.125” thick x .75” wide x 30' long)
  • 1 Gallon of Rubber Roof Adhesive – covers 160-200 sq. ft./gallon.
  • Item ships folded in a box – it is recommended that you remove it from the box as soon as you receive it and lay it flat to allow it to “relax” for several hours before installing. This will allow the temporary creases that may... Show User Reviews

    User Reviews

    Exactly what I needed! The rubber membrane was definitely thicker than the original on our camper. I wouldn't recommend trying to install by yourself, as this is a 2 person project. The membrane comes folded up, so I left it laid out overnight on the roof of the camper, this took care of most of the folding ripples. If you then roll it up on a piece of PVC pipe, it makes it way more manageable to lay and glue down. Great product!!
    It worked like a charm. Only wish there had been a sheet of instructions. Would have helped. Their care center was VERY helpful. Recommend very strongly.
    Product was as described. Installed easily.

    View all reviews

Class A Customs | RV Camper Rubber Roofing 8.5' Wide by 5' Long White Textured EPDM with Install kit | CAC-E85X05-K

★★★★★
$70.25  in stock
Amazon.com
as of 10/04/2021 18:29

Here’s what we found out:

Manufacturer ‎Class A Customs
Brand ‎Class A Customs
Is Discontinued By Manufacturer ‎No
Manufacturer Part Number ‎CAC-E85X05-K

  • MEMBRANE SIZE – 8.5 ft. (102 inches) wide X 5 ft. long.
  • 2 Tubes of Self-Leveling Sealant (10.1 oz)
  • 1 Roll of Putty Tape (.125” thick x .75” wide x 30' long)
  • 1 Gallon of Rubber Roof Adhesive – covers 160-200 sq. ft./gallon.
  • Item ships folded in a box – it is recommended that you remove it from the box as soon as you receive it and lay it flat to allow it to “relax” for several hours before installing. This will allow the temporary creases that may... Show User Reviews

    User Reviews

    Put a liberal amount on the osb ,the rubber roof didn’t stick down in all places. Again instructions would have helped

    View all reviews

Dicor 501LSW-1 Self-Leveling Lap Sealant, 4 Pack

★★★★★
$35.99  in stock
Amazon.com
as of 10/04/2021 18:29

Here’s what we found out:

Manufacturer ‎Dicor
Brand ‎Dicor
Model ‎Dicor 501LSW-1 Self-Leveling Lap Sealant, 4 Pack
Item Weight ‎3.3 pounds
Product Dimensions ‎22.25 x 13.75 x 9 inches
Item model number ‎501 - LSW6
Is Discontinued By Manufacturer ‎No
Manufacturer Part Number ‎501 - LSW6
Folding ‎No
Cover Included ‎Dicor 501LSW-1 Self-Leveling Lap Sealant, 4 Pack

  • Helps create a seal along a roof's edges, around air vents, vent pipes and screw heads
  • Compatible with any roofing material
  • Offers excellent adhesion to aluminum, mortar, wood, vinyl, galvanized metal and concrete
  • Improves the ability to continuously seal and remain flexible
  • UV stabilized to prevent deterioration and discoloration, will not stain or discolor any material to which it is applied
Show User Reviews

User Reviews

Replaced the bathtub skylight and two sewer vents on top of our toy hauler. They were all very brittle and cracked. Spent most of the time removing the old sealant. Once that was cleaned off the installation of the new parts went very quick. The Dicor sealant went down easy and I put down a generous amount. Went over all the screws and completely covered the area where the roof and skylight meet. Sealant was very soft to the touch for a long time. Have not had any issues with leaks. Very happy to get that done. I used 3 of the 4 tubes to do the skylight and two sewer vents just for reference.
This product was recommended for recaulking/sealing the rubber roof of my RV, as well as we installed 2 MaxxAir ceiling fans, one in an existing hole, plus one in a new hole we cut out. By my 5 star rating, you can tell that I believe it was the right product for the job - time will tell. About the "self-leveling" part. It's not really. I did a "test patch" using both methods: (1) apply with caulking gun and let it level out by itself. (2) apply, and then level it out with a (painter's glove on my hand) finger and a wet sponge to wet my finger for smoothing. Method (1) did not really work well, as the material did level out a bit, but not as much as I would expect, and it still stayed pretty uneven. With Method (2), it worked well. You have to level it out with your finger quickly, as it develops a thin film on the surface almost immediately. Weather for application was sunny, breezy, and mid 70's. I left the sealant tubes out in the sun to heat up a bit, hoping it would help maximize the flow of the material. Another side note: on existing caulk, I thoroughly cleaned out the existing material, then cut out the cracks with a utility knife, then re-caulked all the seals. The RV trailer box/roof is 19 feet long, and I used 3 tubes for re-caulking, and 1 tube for new caulk on the Maxxair power vents. Photo shows bathroom vent that was re-caulked, as well as the new Maxxair Fan replacement for the bathroom.
This sealant performs like a silicone caulk... make no mistakes when applying. It is non-forgiving. If you go out of line, apply too much or misapply, it is difficult to clean and remove. It seals well but is very, very difficult to work with when applying. Have lots of paper towels and cloth rags available to remove errors. Have Goof Off or some other cleaner handy. Any left over in a tube is useless for application a day or two after opening and using some out of the tube. Wanted to score this as a two and a half. Half score is not available.

View all reviews

Dicor RPCRC1 White EPDM Rubber Roof Coating - 1 Gallon

★★★★★
$94.94
$70.25
 in stock
Amazon.com
as of 10/04/2021 18:29

Here’s what we found out:

Manufacturer ‎Dicor
Brand ‎Dicor
Model ‎RP-CRC-1
Item Weight ‎12 pounds
Product Dimensions ‎8 x 6.5 x 6.5 inches
Country of Origin ‎China
Item model number ‎RP-CRC-1
Is Discontinued By Manufacturer ‎No
Manufacturer Part Number ‎RP-CRC-1
Folding ‎No
Cover Included ‎Dicor Corporation RP-CRC-1 Rubber Roof Acrylic Coating Wht
Specific Gravity 1.41

  • Well Suited for Retrofit Installations
  • Flexes very well
  • Eliminates irritating roof rumble
  • Requires less lifetime maintenance
  • Specific Gravity:1.41
Show User Reviews

User Reviews

I watched the videos, read the directions, and read the reviews. In the reviews that weren't positive, it seems the directions weren't followed correctly...what did those people expect? Over the period of a few days, I completed this project with the help of my 15 year old daughter. We set out to do this in 1 day. If we didn't live in South Florida, it would have been possible, but our humid weather affects drying and curing. We did this in November when our weather was far less humid than in the summer. We got the 28' trailer covered, roof cleaned, and 2 coats of roof coating completed within 1 day. Finished by about 4pm. The following day, the roof was still a little sticky. Dry to the touch, but sticky if I walked on it. After a couple days, it fully cured. We wanted a 3rd coat to even out a few areas and because we still had enough product to complete another coat. 4 days after, I swept off the roof and applied the 3rd coat. It was fully dry and cured by the following day. This coating covers the rubber roof well and I believe will stop that weird white/black streaky stuff that runs down the trailer and creates the streaks. Be sure to fully cover the sides of your trailer before cleaning. We used a roll of visqueen and frog tape from Home Depot. Lots of yuck comes off the roof. I didn't have a pressure cleaner to use on the roof, so I scrubbed it with a long-handled brush and a high powered hose attachment after letting the cleaner/activator sit for about 30 minutes. A little of the crud washed off the roof seeped through our covering, but not bad. After rising and rerinsing and then rinsing some more, we pulled off all the plastic covering and rinsed the sides at the roof dried. Tedious process, many trips up and down the ladder, but not difficult to use and performs as desribed. We used 2 gallons for a 28' trailer.
I used this two part product on my 22 foot camper, in Cheyenne, Wyoming.I worked very hard to do all the prep. work according to Dicors' directions, and as shown on their videos. I completed the final cleaning of the roof, 30 minutes after applying the cleaner/activator with a 3500psi pressure washer. The roof looked white, and was very clean. I then waited for three hours for the roof to dry in the 75 degree sun, and 10 to 15mph wind. It went on real nice, and after the second coat that was completed about 4:00 pm it looked great. That night we did get a light dew, but it was dry by 8:00 am. We then had a cool day with the high reaching 65 degrees with a 15 to 20 mph wind.The next two days saw temperatures as low as 40 and highs in the 60's, with a light rain falling, less than 0.10 inch over the next 36 hours.I had wanted to put a third coat on due to having enough product to do a complete coat, so when the weather was warmer I went up on the roof to check to see if it was dry, and found that over 1/2 of the roof had bubbled up. I don't know why it did this but it was totally unexpected. The product had enough time to cure before the rain came, and the prep work was exactly as stated in the directions.I don't think this is what I should have expected with this product.Very disappointed!
This product was used on an original 2005 Fleetwood Fifth Wheel rubber roof that was in pretty bad shape. Overall, this product worked amazingly! Prep and application are very straight forward, as detailed on the can (also watch YouTube Video-RV Rubber Roof Coating System by Dicor. My only challenge was to get it all done in one day- Applied on a fall day and time to complete was close to ensure enough light remained in the day. Make sure you start as early as possible to ensure you get the 2 coats down. The product applied easier than painting the walls of a room. I did not notice a strong smell and the flow and coverage was really good not sticky- used a roller and paint brush as needed.I ended up purchasing 3 gallons for my 30 ft rig. Two gallons may have sufficed but I ended up applying the 3rd coat the next day-probably overkill, but worth it to me as this roof did not have much left on it and it gave me peace of mind. At the end of the project, I found that the roof looked almost new. I did not notice any cracks or lesions in the roof as the material covered them very well. This product will not solve any issues with roof edges lifting-I used EternaBond Roof Seal Sealant Tape to tackle and concur the edges. This product worked really well, better than I expected and saved me from replacing my roof.

View all reviews

Dicor 501LSW-1 Epdm Self-Leveling Lap Sealant-10.3 Oz. Tube, White, 10.3 Fluid_Ounces (Packaging May Vary)

★★★★★
$35.99  in stock
Amazon.com
as of 10/04/2021 18:29

Here’s what we found out:

Manufacturer ‎Dicor
Brand ‎Dicor
Model ‎501LSW-1
Item Weight ‎12.8 ounces
Product Dimensions ‎12 x 4 x 4 inches
Country of Origin ‎USA
Item model number ‎501LSW-1
Is Discontinued By Manufacturer ‎No
Manufacturer Part Number ‎501LSW-1
OEM Part Number ‎501LSW
Folding ‎No
Cover Included ‎Dicor Corporation 501LSW-1 Epdm Self-Leveling Lap Sealant - 10.3 Oz. Tube, White
Speed Rating ‎RV/Camper Roof Repair Sealant/Caulk
Color White

  • Creates a secure, secondary seal along the roof’s edges, air vents, vent pipes and screw heads
  • Adheres firmly to aluminum, mortar, wood, vinyl, galvanized metal, fiberglass and concrete
  • Compatible with EPDM and TPO sheeting
  • Color: White
  • Item expires 2 years after manufacturer's stamped date
Show User Reviews

User Reviews

This review is for Dicor 501LSW-1 Lap Sealant. This sealant is for use on horizontal surfaces. Do not use it on vertical surfaces or it will run down the sides. There is a negative review on this product complaining that it does not self level, the negative review is mis-leading. This product does self level. I think the person who purchased it and was disappointed thought it would be a molasses like consistency that would run and spread thinly and evenly. That is not what this product does. This works great on things like roof vents and where ceiling fans protrude from the roof. It kind of works this way, lets say you have a screw head you want to cover, put a 1/2" high glob of 501LSW on it that completely covers the screw head. After a few moments the glob will spread out to a larger circle and be about 1/4" high. If you are using this like traditional caulk and just running a bead of it, that wont work right. It has to be a tall bead of caulk so that it can level out. Like the example above with the screw head, if you put a bit of caulk on the screw head that is 1/8" high that wont spread and it probably wont self level much either. This stuff is meant to be put on in a generous manner, it is not going to look pretty but it will flow into nooks and crannies and fill potential leak spots. If you are near the edge of your roof be careful as this can level out by the roof edge and drip down the sides. In a way it is similar to baking cookies, you put a ball of cookie dough on a sheet and as it bakes the dough ball spreads out and makes a thin cookie. If you think of this product like the cookie i think it will be closer to expectations.If you need an item for a vertical surfact this is NOT it.
Dicor sealant is hands down the best stuff for sealing campers. It's best to apply it with a small, flat paint brush. It will self level so when you are done it flattens out which looks great, and allows water to flow across it. Dicor is much better than silicone, which will crack, leak, peel, and doesn't self level. I put a new vent on my 1984 pop up camper and used this to seal if. You get a lot so I used the rest to seal every seam and crack on the roof. That would have been enough, but I also bought a gallon of UV roof sealer and rolled on three coats to protect the dicor and seal the roof. My old camper didn't leak at all during three days of torrential down pours. The wind was blowing too, which says a lot. I know this will last a long time so I won't have to keep reapplying silicone. I recommend buying an extra tube to keep just in case you find yourself needing it in the middle of nowhere.
Regardless of reviews stating did not flow or tube exploded, this product worked great. I allowed tube to set in sun for 30-60 minutes before use and sealant flowed smoothly. I recommend and will continue to use Dicor 501LSW-1

View all reviews

EternaBond RoofSeal White 4" x50' MicroSealant UV Stable Seam Repair Tape | 35 mil Total Thickness EB-RW040-50R - One-Step Durable, Waterproof and Airtight Repair

★★★★★
$79.50
$61.99
 in stock
Amazon.com
as of 10/04/2021 18:29

Here’s what we found out:

Manufacturer ‎EternaBond
Brand ‎EternaBond
Model ‎RSW-4-50
Item Weight ‎3.5 pounds
Product Dimensions ‎6.3 x 6.3 x 4 inches
Item model number ‎RSW-4-50
Is Discontinued By Manufacturer ‎No
Exterior ‎Smooth
Manufacturer Part Number ‎730604-11242
OEM Part Number ‎RSW-4-50
Folding ‎No
Cover Included ‎Unit^Instruction Guide
EASY TO USE One step roof repair system for use on virtually all roofs and roof accessories with no additional products needed. bonds to a wide range of surfaces including roof materials such as EPDM, TPO, Hypalon, aluminum, galvanized steel, wood, and fiberglass.
NO ADDITIONAL SEALING REQUIRED Creates a waterproof, moisture, and air tight barrier with no additional sealing required that remains flexible to -57°C (-70°F) RoofSeal is the best solution for RV leak repair
NO MESS No trays or solvents to clean up after use
EXCELLENT UV RESISTANCE features a UV stable backing that will not deteriorate with fluctuating temperatures or direct sun.
VERSATILE ROOF REPAIR Seal any rip, tear, or open seam - RoofSeal is used to seal roof joints (seams) and tears, skylights, etc. Perfect for repairing and restoring roofs on mobile homes and RVs. RoofSeal seals to itself so it can be cut and folded around an object. Use RoofSeal over factory RV roof seams one time and never do roof seam maintenance again

  • EASY TO USE: One step roof repair system for use on virtually all roofs and roof accessories with no additional products needed. bonds to a wide range of surfaces including roof materials such as EPDM, TPO, Hypalon, aluminum, galvanized steel, wood, and fiberglass.
  • NO ADDITIONAL SEALING REQUIRED: Creates a waterproof, moisture, and air tight barrier with no additional sealing required that remains flexible to -57°C (-70°F) RoofSeal is the best solution for RV leak... Show User Reviews

    User Reviews

    "On the eighth day, God enjoyed his rest and decided that man should rest also, and so he created the RV. Knowing that the roof on the RV would eventually leak because man was created foolish enough to forget to put a cover on his RV in the hot sun, God created EternaBond Roof Seal tape. And God saw that it was good." - Somewhere in GenesisOK, so is it that good? Do you want to seal the fine cracks in the EDPM roof rubber on your RV - FOREVER? Do you want something that you can put up there and forget about it - no fear of the bond disintegrating over time and flying off onto the overly - cautious Volvo driver following behind you? Do you want to end the seepage of the ever-so-evil-RV-destroying rain water into your coach? Do you want something to firmly attach your rocket boosters to the space shuttle before leaving the atmosphere*?Then this is the product for you! This stuff is probably the stickiest stuff I have ever run into - and I have children! You cut it to length, peel the clear backing off and firmly press it onto the roof of your coach. You can use a roller for more firm pressure, I suppose, if you want to buy a roller you will never use again, but believe me, it is sticky enough with just hand pressure. Once you press it down, it's there. Eternally.This stuff is so sticky that when applying it I accidentally got it stuck to itself - sticky sides together -- what to do? Just pull it apart?No can do - if you try that it mercilessly mocks your efforts, leaving you in a defeated crying heap of weakness.This product has one job, and it does it well.The white side is a nigh-impenetrable water tight cover over a gray semi-squishy adhesive that supposedly bonds to the surface. Im not going to go up there and test the molecular process at work and endlessly debate the difference between bonding and sticking - to me it's sticky - darn sticky. I have no doubt that it will repair whatever mess you have up there and then some. My guess? It will probably outlast the roof around it until you are left with no rubber roof save for the parts you stuck this onto.My plan is to slowly cover every inch of the roof on my 34' Bounder over the next few years until it is completely covered. Seriously - if these guys made a peel-and-stick roof covering in one piece I'd use it, except for the fact that I fear I would be in real danger of becoming stuck to it during installation, leaving myself helpless on the roof of my RV like a wayward mosquito caught in the web of a black widow, or a criminal caught in that spider-individual's web of justice, resigned to my fate of imobility.This comes in different widths and I like the 4". Ok, I've only ever used the 4", but I do like it. It covers seams well with a fair amount of overlap. I considered the 6" and the 2", but I bought the 4". Fifty feet of this stuff is a lot, but at the same time you might be surprised how many little cracks and stuff you have up there, plus it is good to have some on hand in case of future leaks, or the sudden need reattach an arm after a bazaar kayaking accident. (Am I the only kayaker here? Thought not!) You may find yourself wanting to use on good seams to because, well, it just seems a heck of a lot stronger when you do.Yes, it's pricey, and yes, I'd like it to be cheaper, but it is worth every penny, and I don't spend my money unscrupulously, at least not since the incident with the goat farm back in the nineties. (They TOLD me it was the wave of the future!)Anyway, buy it, stick it to things, make them waterproof, but beware - you don't get any take-backs, so be sure it is exactly where you want it!*Product not warranted for atmospheric re-entry
    UPDATE: It is March 2018. The eternabond has been on my trailer for about two years now and all the areas where I applied eternabond are holding up very well. No breaches or leaks. I have raised this rating from 4 to 5 stars because of how practical this stuff is.I have a 1999 Northwood Nash travel trailer. It has no leaks that I know of but I can see there are some parts of the roof, notably the front and rear seams and around the front and back corners that look problematic.I researched various ways to deal with this. Most pros would probably say to take the seam apart, etc., and reseal it. That's not realistic for me right now. There are no current leaks and I am looking to shore up these problematic old caulk jobs that look about ready to fail along the front and rear seams and near the gutter.I first looked at a lot of pictures at what other people had done with Eternabond tape. That helped. There was also a youtube video made by the Eternabond company about how to apply it. That also helped because it gave me the idea to use the utility knife. And to use my fingers instead of the roller. The guy in the Eternabond video uses his fingers to apply pressure (not the roller) and he uses a utility knife to cut the tape. There is not a lot of great info out there about using it but there are a lot of pictures and some decent youtube videos. None address the issue of lancing as well as they should in my opinion.Something else about the utility knife is important which is that it can be used to easily lance any air bubbles or "tents" that occur has you apply the Eternabond. Using you fingers to smoothly apply pressure helps to identify these air pockets that can be lanced so that the microsealant can fully apply. The Eternabond website says to use a pin to pop air bubbles and describes the procedure for what to do for "tenting" and I found that also very helpful. As it shows that where it tents or bubbles, the important thing is only to lance it and smooth it over and apply another layer if necessary or to make it prettier.I am totally new to this and could be doing it wrong so I'm just going to get to the pictures ...First I noticed the trouble spot by the back rear where the caulking was breaking down and this looked like an area where it was possible for water to pool. So I made this area a priority. It is around the gutter and the gutter and the rubber strip along the gutter are in very good shape so I didn't want to cover them up.I prepared and primed the area. (Disclosure: I have some Eternaprime brand primer on order but until then I decided to prime it the old fashioned way.) So I washed the area thoroughly with dishsoap until it was about as clean as it gets with dishsoap. then I marked the area lightly where I would be applying the tape and used a little sandpaper to rough up the area. then I quickly applied and wiped off some acetone over the area. this is especially good for priming the old caulk. it is good to expose a "sticky" layer of the old caulk which if you scrape or prime some away, does appear. Note that the acetone will remove the paint also off your trailer. then I pre-meaured the strips I was going to use and planned exactly where I would place them and pre-cut the strips. I took my time and used no strips longer than 8 inches. I find that more than that is difficult to handle and to focus on applying pressure on every little bit.When I applied the eternabond tape, I pretty much put it above where I wanted it (with back peeled off) and let it kind of fall into place by gravity as I guided it laying it as flat as possible. then when it was flat, I went about applying pressure from the middle out and working out all the tents and air bubbles and I pressed on the sealant. It was very helpful to have a clean and sharp utility knife to lance tents and air bubbles. You have to really be careful with that utility knife because remember if you go just a little bit too much, you will cut into your rubber roof. Nevertheless, I used one because it worked the best.*UPDATE: I got the eternaprime primer and it was by far the best way to prime the area for the tape.This is not a how to guide because I am not sure if I am doing this correctly but by using some logic and watching some videos about how to use this, it seems pretty good. In areas where I had to lance tents or air bubbles and more tape was needed, I simply applied more tape over that area as Eternabond says to do on their website.I used:pair of nice, sharp scissors to cut the tape (clean scissors as necessary with acetone if they get gunked)utility knife (clean with acetone if it gets gunked)acetone as described abovedishsoap as described abovemy fingers to press down to ensure surface adherence (not the roller)On purpose here I did not use the tape over the black rubber or the gutter because both are in good condition with no breaches so I wanted to leave them as-is.I plan to do the three other corners of the trailer and all along the front and rear seams although for going along the entire seam, I am going to wait for the Eternaprime. I wanted to get going with this corner just to see if it would be a viable method to deal with the deteriorating caulk around this area.
    This tape looks like it will NEVER separate from my trailer! It is the "stickiest" stuff I've ever used. I bought it to anchor the new flexible, thin solar panels I purchased to the roof of my travel trailer. It is easy to cut to size, but be VERY cautious once you begin to peel the backing off the adhesive! Do it a little at a time, and be careful with the alignment. Once it touches anything, it is almost impossible to reposition.However, now that the panels are in place and anchored, I have no concerns that they will come off. I also covered the wiring to the panels with this stuff. Hopefully you can see how nicely it has applied in the attached photo.

    View all reviews

Heng's Rubber Roof Coating - 1 Gallon

★★★★★
$60.89  in stock
Amazon.com
as of 10/04/2021 18:29

Here’s what we found out:

Manufacturer ‎ToughGrade
Brand ‎Heng's
Item Weight ‎5 pounds
Product Dimensions ‎6.5 x 11.9 x 7.5 inches
Item model number ‎TG-976
Is Discontinued By Manufacturer ‎No
Manufacturer Part Number ‎461284
Folding ‎No

  • Designed for use over RV rubber roofs, at seams and tears and to seal vents, air conditioners, etc.
  • It is UV resistant and expands and contracts with roofs
  • Resists cracking and withstands impact, non-polluting and non-toxic
  • Available in gallon size
Show User Reviews

User Reviews

I performed a ton of research before purchasing this product. I've completely re-roofed two previous RV's so this was the first time I just needed to re-coat one. I have a 40' pusher so based on other reviews I decided I needed 3 gallons. They arrived quickly but all three cans received damage in shipping. No worries as the cans are sealed with a plastic ring that isn't going to come off without serious effort. I started by taking my RV to a car wash with an RV bay and pressure washing it as clean as possible. Next I removed all the old lap sealant from everything and replaced all my vents. I then cleaned the roof one more time by hand using Simple Green and water. From previous experience I sealed all straight and squared edges with Eternabond tape and used new lap sealant around the plumbing vent, satellite and antenna. In final preparation I wiped down the roof one last time to remove any remaining debris and taped drop clothes around the edge of the RV. I used a disposable paint tray and started by rolling the edges with a 3" roller with a 1/2" nap. Heng's almost has the consistency of latex paint so it rolls on very smoothly. I then switched to a standard 9" roller and finished the first coat which took about 1 1/2 gallons. If you look carefully at the pictures you will see a small amount of black showing through after the first coat. I let it dry overnight and returned the next day to add a second coat which took an additional gallon plus. As you can see from the pictures it turned out amazing. After all was said and done I was left with about 1/4 of a gallon. Total prep time was probably 3-4 hours and applying the product took about 1.5 hours the first coat and 45 minutes the second. I simply can't say enough good things about this product, it completely exceeded my expectations. If you've been procrastinating like I was don't wait any longer.
ONE YEAR LATER, HOLDING UP TO THE SOUTH FLORIDA SUN PERFECTLY!REVIEW APPLIES TO ORANGE CAN, NOT THE BLUE CAN. I did not buy this here because Prime was not offered and found a better deal on ebay. However, if you are like me and have been dreading the job trying to replace the "white" on your Motor Coach's rubber roof (year 2000) this is your lucky day! I've been researching all sorts of products and almost went with the $500 product for 5 gallons and all sorts of prep work and possibly primer not to mention a 7 day dry time ... yikes! I have been procrastinating for two years, only now I have many black spots on my roof and the coach has been heating up noticeably on the interior making the AC's work overtime in the FL sun. So, I bought this stuff and simply followed the directions. Bought powdered laundry detergent and headed up to the roof with a 5 gallon pail, garden hose, car wash brush and a hand held scrub brush and went to town removing as much loose white as I could, including the little round dark mold spots? They scrubbed off ... when I was done (about 2 hours) I had a half black and half white roof. The next day I rolled on the HENGS, not much different than exterior latex house paint, maybe a tad thicker. I used a brush for the edges and around the skylights, vents and AC units. It was a warm sunny day and I was able to do some touch up (bare feet) in about 2 hours. Now the roof was cool in bare feet and before it was impossible to be up there with bare feet as it was so HOT! So, 1 3/4 gallons I was done. I am going to buy one more gallon and apply the 1 1/4 gallons to cover up some weak spots , but I'm very impressed what 1 3/4 gallons did on a mostly black 38 foot roof! It's been a week baking in the sun and I've been back up bare foot and all ... no bubbles, nothing loose, it looks amazing. Very impressed thus far, So much so, I spent the time to write this review to hopefully ease the mind of someone else contemplating what you think is going to be a huge job. It was very easy and I predict my next coat will take about 45 minutes. Total time (aprox) 2 hours prep and 1 1/2 hours of actual rolling/painting.
My husband has researched rv roof coatings so much it was driving me crazy! I think this was recommended by a local rv store. Prep is very important. My husband has always used 303 protectant on roof and window seals. It is great stuff but he did not put any on this year...didn't want any of it still on rubber roof. Also cleaned roof two different days with dawn in water using a scrub brush on his hands and knees; rinsed thoroughly, let dry. All oil must be removed. He put edges on with paint brush and rolled the rest. Let dry two days and did another coat by brush only...he liked that better. He loved the results and he is a picky dude. He thought it was an easy job and is a one person job. Our roof/fifth wheel is 20 years old and in terrific shape. It was sure cheaper than a new rubber roof (thousands). Two coats on 27 foot rv, three coats on edges, vents, around edges of skylights took 1- 1/2 gallon. It has been on there a couple of months and seems just fine...time will tell. Ask questions if you want.

View all reviews

Ziollo RV Flex Repair Caulking Lap Sealant - Self Leveling EPDM Sealant for Rubber Roofs on Motorhomes, Trailers, Campers (White, 1-10 oz Tube of RV Caulk)

★★★★★
$35.99  in stock
Amazon.com
as of 10/04/2021 18:29

Here’s what we found out:

Manufacturer ‎Ziollo
Brand ‎Ziollo
Model ‎RV Flex Repair
Item Weight ‎1.12 pounds
Product Dimensions ‎2 x 2 x 12 inches
Item model number ‎Caulking
Manufacturer Part Number ‎FlexCaulk1US
Special Features ‎Extendable

  • LIFETIME WARRANTY & GUARANTEE - No other RV product on the market compares to our RV Flex Repair's Quality or Lifetime Warranty
  • RV ROOF MAINTENANCE - The easiest, most efficient way to complete your RV Roof Restoration in 1 weekend is with the RV Flex Repair System; Compatible with RV Flex Repair Roof Seam Tape and RV Flex Repair 100% Silicone Roof Coating
  • ECO-FRIENDLY PRODUCTS - Ziollo professional-grade RV Flex Repair Caulking Sealant non-hazardous formula is... Show User Reviews

    User Reviews

    So I follow all instructions and make sure the area was prepped and cleaned before applying this. I let it sit for a week. Went to check it and it just peeled away from the roof. DO NOT use if you want to do the job right. It looked just fine but pulled off the roof super easy.
    worked great for wires and drill points. Very happy with the outcome. It does take days to fully dry if you make thick spots (i did some about 3/4 in to 1" thick in one spot.) but seemed water tight in a few hours. It dried from the outside in so there was a dry shell and it was still squishy under for a while.
    Great purchase. You can literally paint this stuff on, which is great for narrow spaces. It can also be layered and adheres well to surfaces, even vertical ones. It does take time to dry, but that's to be expected in a damp climate. (It would actually be harder to work with if it dried too quickly.) Four tubes was more than needed, but this is a good thing too -- it's smart to have some extra on hand for the next time the travel trailer springs a leak.

    View all reviews

Rv Sealant – The Buyer’s Guide & FAQ:

1. Does it have the features you need?

Before you purchase Rv Sealant, make sure again that it has all of the features listed in your needs list! If some options are missing, it is better to look for an alternative.

We always suggest that our editors make a list of important attributes before adding a product to the list and rank it based on these attributes, the quality of the product and the brand guarantee!

At the same time if you find a Rv Sealant that has all you need, maybe in that case you shouldn’t mind paying a little more. That is why it’s important to make a list that contains the features you’re looking for, decide your budget and specifications (if any).

2. Read product reviews

A simple way to obtain the best product is to look at reviews of the product. Buying guides and reviews can help you learn a lot about the product you are planning to buy. If you want important and relevant information about a Rv Sealant, read user reviews based on actual experiences with a particular product. They will help you decide on your purchase.

3. Budget and Price Match

Chances are you won’t be able to buy the best Rv Sealant using a very low budget. That’s why it’s important to write down all the important features, specifications, and price range. As soon as you’ve done that, look for products that either equal or near your budget.

Try to follow your budget, but remember that during your search you will see a model that’s a bit better and has an additional feature with a really small difference in cost. Consider these advantages. If it’s worth it, you should probably increase your budget.

About Promotions and Discounts

When comparing prices on merchandise, your aim is to purchase the best product at the best price. While some shoppers will willingly spend their cash on discounts and cheap items, others will be more cautious of these”too good to be true” discounts and offers. The perfect way to save your money is to compare prices and quality of items at different online stores.

4. Always read product descriptions carefully

Not reading the item description before purchasing is a critical mistake. The issue with many online shoppers today is they make most of their buying decisions based on the product image displayed. They do not take the time to read the full product description. To avoid disappointment with your purchase, always check all of the information about an item before adding it to your cart. Don’t be fooled by photoshop-edited images that could distort the actual appearance of the product.

5. Warranty and Brand

The majority of the experts we consulted told us to always purchase Rv Sealant, from a reputable brand. They also asked us to write in our buyer’s guide that buying Rv Sealant from unknown brands or from untrustworthy companies is almost never worth the savings.

In the end, Rv Sealant from an unknown brand could be cheap but extremely low quality and hard to repair.

Another advantage of purchasing Rv Sealant from a respectable brand is the warranty. Most Rv Sealant from respectable brands come with a great warranty. Cheap products come with a warranty too, but it can be very difficult to claim it. So buy models from reputable brands with a fantastic warranty.

Our decision:

– So, the best Rv Sealant, in our view, is Liquid Rubber RV Roof Coating – Solar Reflective Sealant, Trailer and Camper Roof Repair, Waterproof, Easy to Apply, Brilliant White,1 Gallon.

– Similar in features to the best, but probably a little more affordable, is Class A Customs 1 Case of 12 Tubes RV Self Leveling Caulk for RV Camper Rubber Roof Repair.

– The best concerning value for money, we choose Class A Customs | RV Camper Rubber Roofing 8.5′ Wide by 15′ Long White Textured EPDM with Install kit | CAC-E85X15-K.

You may be interested:

Choosing The Right RV Sealants For Your Vehicle

Join the RVRC community to access a huge library of RV repair and...

Share.

Jeremy Williamson is the senior editor writing about travel, camping gear and RV accessories. He previously worked at The Awl and Popular Mechanics magazines; before that, he restored historic houses and mowed lawns for a living. A man with too many hobbies, he’s currently engrossed in leatherwork, and he might make you a wallet if you ask nicely.

Comments are closed.

Scroll Up