RV Travel

The modern motorhome gives you the opportunity to travel as a family without giving up the comforts of home. There are many RV accessories to help make your trip even more enjoyable. We would like to recommend the best of them to you.

There is a wide range of Rv Water Softeners on the market today. If you’re having trouble choosing, please take a look at this article, where we’ve reviewed the 10 best ones for 2021.

In order for our rating to be the most objective, our choices are based on certain criteria.
We base our selection criteria on customer satisfaction, brand quality, technical specifications, and price/performance ratio.

After spending 217 hours researching various options from known brands, I contacted experts and consulted with them to compile this list of the best Rv Water Softeners on the market.

Let’s waste no more time and move on to our List of the top 10 Rv Water Softener!

We may receive a commission for the links on this page, but we only recommend the best products in their category.

10 Top-Rated Rv Water Softener



Contents Show

The Best Rv Water Softener

Essential RV Water Softener Portable 16,000 Grain w Custom Hose, Long Lasting for RVers Vanlife, 3/4" Fittings, Softens Hard Water When Traveling or Mobile Spot Reducing Car Washing

★★★★★
$279.95  in stock
Amazon.com
as of 10/03/2021 22:53

Here’s what we found out:

COMBINE WITH RV WATER FILTER STORE SYSTEMS - For optimal results with the purest and softest water on the move, easily connect this RV Water Softener in series with our proprietary RV Water Filtration systems offered by RV Water Filter Store ---> For Best Selling 2 Stage Point of Entry System Search B07CC94WLN

  • PORTABLE WATER SOFTENER FOR RV'ers ON THE MOVE - This RV water softener is pre-assembled and features a 3/4" High Flow port and a 16,000 grain capacity for up to 60 days(2000+ gallons) of softened water; ready to go, no electricity required. With low maintenance and easy installation, a 5 year old could do it.
  • NSF MATERIALS ARE SAFE FOR YOUR FAMILY & PETS- Features a rugged NSF Polyethylene tank covered with fiberglass with a 10 3/8" base for stability; Inner contents... Show User Reviews

    User Reviews

    The only issue I had with this unit was leaking. I found the O ring in the neck was pinched. I flipped the O ring, applied some vaseline to the O ring and it stopped the leak. I had to add sealant tape to the in and out fittings as they were also leaking.Other than those minor issues all is working well.
    Super easy set up. It truly takes the hard iron out of the water.
    Purchased for our RV and it definitely softened the water. But at first gave the water an aftertaste. The vendor reached out and offered many solutions. End result is to ensure enough water pressure to throughly rinse the filter medium. After doing that taste is gone and works like a charm.

    View all reviews

AO Smith Whole House Salt Free Water Descaler - Water Softener Alternative - 6yr, 600,000 Gl - AO-WH-DSCLR

★★★★★
$299.00  in stock
Amazon.com
as of 10/03/2021 22:53

Here’s what we found out:

Manufacturer ‎AO Smith
Item Weight ‎14.22 pounds
Package Dimensions ‎30.2 x 9.5 x 9.4 inches
Size ‎6 lakh gallon
Color ‎Black
Style ‎Whole House Salt-Free Descaler
Measurement System ‎English/Standard
Batteries Required? ‎No

  • Salt-Free Scale Prevention - The AO-WH-DSCLR naturally reduces scale build up in pipes and plumbing using a salt & chemical-free system. No cleaning, backwashing, salt-bags or electricity required.
  • Works For All Your Water Needs - System works effectively on water for use in drinking, cooking, showering & bathing. Perfect for households of 4 or more people. System will not reduce TDS.
  • Well Or City Water - Our Whole House Descaler is engineered to work with... Show User Reviews

    User Reviews

    I purchased the descaler and the whole house water filter. The ball valve was bad with one of the units. It's the same valve for both of them, so I'm not sure which came with the bad unit. I contacted Amazon and was given AO Smith's number to call. My hope was to have them replace only the valve, since it's a small part. Upon calling AO Smith, I was told I have to contact Amazon for damaged parts. I explained that the part was not "damaged", it's a manufacturing defect because the valve is not working correctly. I was told "that's not a part we can replace" and I would have to replace the entire unit through Amazon. Really? A part that fits in the palm of my hand? Well, that's exactly what I was trying to avoid. I already recycled the box because all the parts were there and looked good and partially installed the unit. I didn't realize the valve was bad until I put it on. So, now I have either the option of undoing all that work and dealing with the hassle of returning the entire unit, OR buying a new $20 valve. Worst warranty service I've ever had. I will not be purchasing from AO Smith again when these units need replacing. A company that can't stand behind it's components on a brand new system is not a company to be trusted!
    We live in a rural neighborhood everyone is on a well. The water is full of calcium and other minerals plus we get lots of sediment and rust.The dishwasher doesn’t work and everything gets covered with mineral depositsI have installed several sediment and carbon filters but they don’t remove the minerals that prevent the water from cleaning. We had a water softener but hate the way it feels and don’t want to deal with the bags of salt.I have looked at many options and cost and reviews have turned me away.R.O.units use much too much water.We purchased the whole house descaler from AO Smith (they have been in business for ever by the way) and it works!!!I installed it after my filers I have a 50 micron screen a 10 micron a 5 micron and a carbonWe instantly saw a huge improvement. We can now drink the water from the faucet. Our dishwasher actually cleans the dishes. Our shower doors are no longer covered with spots.This is the best deal in water treatment you can get.You must have the prefilters AO makes one I just used what I had because it was within Their specification. For less than $400 you can’t go wrong with this filter. We have had it in use for about 2-3 months, they say it works for 6 years and it has a guarantee.
    I finally got around to having this installed by a plumber in my water softener loop. I had one that was 8 years old (another MFR) that I recently removed and decided that I NEEDED a chlorine filter. My old one was about 4 feet high and I wasn't sure if I needed to replace it or not, but I felt after 8 years, it must be due. I flushed this with the garden hose and the water was running clear in less than 10 minutes, so that was easy. What took me so long to install this was actually the plumber I was using. He had been to my home for a water softener and then again to remove the old chlorine filter. After BOTH visits, my water tasted and smelled like acetone for about 3 days even after flushing for over an hour. Well, I will tell you WHY this happened. The original plumber was in a rush and did not let the pvc primers/glue cure and completely dry enough before turning the water back on! I got a new plumber who waited about 45 minutes for it to cure and dry.....no smell or taste in the water! If you are doing this yourself or hiring someone, make sure you/they wait more than enough time for it to cure and dry COMPLETELY. If your water smells or tastes like acetone, there was not enough time given to dry/cure. And in my case 15-20 minutes was not enough time but 45 minutes worked well. If you get the smell/taste of acetone after turning the water on, the only thing you can do is wait it out, about 2-3 full days.The thing I noticed about this filter is that it is made by the same manufacturer that makes Aquasana filters. How do I know this? It was on the shipping label from the MFR to Amazon, then Amazon to me (there were 2 labels on the box) These exact filters are sold in lowes too for the same price here, but you don't have to lug it around and you may save on sales tax ordering online. I thought they were much heavier than they actually are which is why I ordered here.It works well, I smell no chlorine on any tap in the house. I also installed a pre-filter, (AO smith as well) that I picked up locally and installed that BEFORE this charcoal filter to get any sediment and rust particles from the city water. Yes, city water does have it and after one day, you can see the prefilter is no longer pristine white. After 3 days the prefilter is a light orange and I NEVER had a visible rust problem in my home. Now I know why my salt softener filter was slightly orange after a month! rust in the water. AFTER the charcoal filter is my salt water softener. I will absolutely buy this filter again in 6 years when it comes time to replace it. Great filter, great price, Amazon convenience and customer service if you need it.

    View all reviews

On The Go OTG4-DBLSOFT-Portable 16,000 Grain RV Water Softener

★★★★★
$79.49  in stock
Amazon.com
as of 10/03/2021 22:53

Here’s what we found out:

Manufacturer ‎On The Go
Brand ‎On The Go
Item Weight ‎32 pounds
Package Dimensions ‎23.4 x 11 x 10.8 inches
Is Discontinued By Manufacturer ‎No
Manufacturer Part Number ‎OTG4-DBLSOFT
Folding ‎No

  • The Double Standard Softener & Conditioner produces twice the gallons compared to the standard model and is the largest compact RV softener on the market.
  • Built for the owner of any RV/Marine model, this 16,000 grain unit is a perfect fit and supplies approx. 40% more soft water than any other unit on the market. It simply regenerates with 2 boxes of common table salt in less than 30 minutes and provides the owner with soft water up to 1600 gallons or up to 40... Show User Reviews

    User Reviews

    If you purchase any accessory for your RV, this should be the first. We became full times over a year ago. I bought this last November while wintering in Nevada. I never set it up because of freezing concerns. In April we bought a new 5rh wheel and after a couple months I noticed deposits on the kitchen faucet sprayer as well as hard water streaks on the shower glass. I then set the softener up and I can't believe how much better the clothes come out of the washer, no marks on the shower glass and no build up on the faucets. The ice is noticeably better in my beverages and our skin feels much softer. I'm sure all the plumbing and related appliances will last much longer. For the winter I've learned to put a plastic garbage can over the softener with a light inside to protect it from freezing. The water test strips, that came with the package, showed hardness of 480 ppm before installation and less than 40 afterwards.
    Worked great until the first regen - then no more soft water. We have very hard water in our RV park and when the test strip indicated time to regen I did a backflush then a regen with 2 salt boxes as per their instructions. After the regen I tested the output again and the test strip indicated the water was still hard. I called them and learned that I had waited too long to do the regen. They gave me instructions on how to get the unit back to normal. I'll update this after I perform a super regen.
    This is a bit bigger than you think but working well for us in our RV. We had extremely hard water and this brings it down to essentially 0ppm. I do think the capacity ratings may be off a bit. This has twice the capacity of the smaller version but is not rated at twice the gallons. For a small diameter increase I am happy I went with the bigger unit. If you camp for extended periods this is the one to get. If you are more of a week or weekend warrior, the smaller unit is better as it recharges quicker (shorter flush times). Very happy with this purchase. I can actually drink the tap water now and no more white deposits on all the pots/pans/glasses.

    View all reviews

GE Appliances 30,400 Grain, GXSF30V Water Softener, Gray

★★★★★
 in stock
Amazon.com
as of 10/03/2021 22:53

Here’s what we found out:

Manufacturer ‎GE Appliances
Part Number ‎GXSF30V
Item Weight ‎81 pounds
Product Dimensions ‎22.44 x 14.44 x 43.25 inches
Country of Origin ‎USA
Item model number ‎GXSF30V
Is Discontinued By Manufacturer ‎No
Size ‎30,400 Grain
Color ‎Gray
Item Package Quantity ‎1
Included Components ‎Water softener
Batteries Included? ‎No
Batteries Required? ‎No
Warranty Description ‎Limited 1-year entire appliance-See written warranty for full details

  • Electronic controls - Easy to use up-front electronic controls with status light indicator
  • Grain capacity - 30,400
  • GE exclusive days to empty - Makes sure you never have to guess when to refill the salt tank
  • Water usage - Uses up to 20% less water (based on internal analysis verses GE water softeners manufactured prior to 2009)
  • Plumbing connections - Plumbing connection up to 1"
Show User Reviews

User Reviews

I had a whirlpool salt softener that was 40k grains and 8 years old.....it was still working but unbeknownst to me, someone had changed the salt setting down to 12 a few years back and I thought it was not working....well, it was working but not properly because someone changed the salt setting........so I bought this to replace it. I set it at 25 and it works great. It will take time until your hot water heater fills completely with the softened water, but cold should be ready to go after installation. I had a plumber switch this out for me in my softener loop. Immediately after and for 2-3 days, my water smelled and tested like acetone and I could not figure this out! I was scared to use the water. FYI, this was the pvc glue that was used and it took 2-3 days for it to completely cure? and wash away. Yes, I let the cold water run for an hour, but the taste/odor was still there until a few days later. If this should happen to you, just know that you have to wait a few days, and I would NOT NOT NOT use the hot water during this time as you don't want that in your hot water heater!! My plumber happens to be immune to this scent as he works with it every day. I happen to be hyper sensitive to it. It does go away though!UPDATE! I just had a different plumber add a whole house sediment and charcoal/chlorine filter to the softener loop which is all pvc. Those need to be added BEFORE the softener. This plumber waited the CORRECT amount of time for the pvc glue to cure before turning on the water, at least half an hour. The result is there is NO primer/glue odor or taste in the water at all!! Make sure you give the glue plenty of time to cure and dry or make your plumber give it the correct amount of time before turning on the water.So, it works good. If you need to adjust the salt hardness level, just know that this model only allows you to do this in increments of 5 above 25. I have it now set at 25 and my next option higher would be 30. At settings below 25, this changes in increments of 1 (10,11,12,13...) My hair no longer feels like straw and my shower is CLEAN. I can't live without a salt softener. There are just way too many benefits and the water does NOT taste salty. My appliances and fixtures will last forever without leaking or premature failure. Clothes are cleaner and not stiff. I could go on and on all day about the benefits of a salt softener, and I tried one that wraps around your water lines.....straight back to the salt softener for me!! This was the cheapest replacement I could find and my whirlpool was working still after 8 years which is very similar to this ge.Update: This has been in use for about a month now. The thing I like most abut this unit is it has a display of when you will run out of salt! love this! I have the salt level on 2 and it is expected to run out in 90 days! This does NOT waste the salt. I would put the salt higher than 2, but I don't want to get a salt dam or salt bridge, so I just check it every few weeks and will add another bag when it looks too low.For those of you who may be worried about adding salt to the water, this does not. The ion exchange happens in the softer's filter and it does NOT add salt to the water on any tap in the home. I tested the salinity of the water on all taps against the outside tap that is not connected to the water softener and the salinity is the same, 170ppm. Tested against a neighbor too on the same city water but without a softener, their results are 182ppm of salt. That is just what the city gives us, which is under the federal recommended standards of 200ppm. I do have an RO system in the kitchen, but I have that mainly for the fluoride, but the salt reading at that tap is 20ppm or lower depending on how long it runs.
Received an obviously used product. Box was damaged and the unit itself still had some water droplets in it and a few scratches. Whats worse is that its going to be a hassle to return it
Came broken, not sure how that works.. (edit) also was missing the back part..

View all reviews

Portable RV Water Softener 16,000 Grain PRO Premium Grade, Trailers, Boats, Mobile Car Washing, High Flow 3/4" GH Ports

★★★★★
$279.95  in stock
Amazon.com
as of 10/03/2021 22:53

Here’s what we found out:

Manufacturer ‎PRO+AQUA
Brand ‎PRO+AQUA
Item Weight ‎34.3 pounds
Product Dimensions ‎10 x 10 x 20 inches
Item model number ‎FBA-WS-P-16
Manufacturer Part Number ‎FBA-WS-P-16
OEM Part Number ‎FBA-WS-P-16
PREMIUM PRO FEATURES Wide 10-3/8" base for maximum stability on uneven surfaces. High Flow ports for minimal pressure drop and 5 GPM flow. The 16,000 grain capacity will provide up to 40 days (2,000 gallons) of softened water depending on your hardness and usage. Additional female adapter included for backwash (WS-P-REG-KIT kit available for faster regeneration). Conditions Well or City water. Reduces Calcium, Magnesium, Iron, Lead, Radium and other Heavy Metals. Ready for use in 5 minutes!
PREMIUM VALUE This Portable Softener & Conditioner produces twice the gallons compared to a standard model and offers the best value and is the best compact RV softener on the market measuring about 10" x 19.5" total size.
TOP CAPACITY Designed for portability and durability, this 16,000 grain unit is the perfect choice for serious RV/boat owners, carwash detailer or any outdoor person or professional looking for the best mobile softener on the market. Provides approx. 40% more soft water than any other unit on the market in its size. Regenerates in under 30 minutes, with 2 boxes of table salt, to get you back on the open road. Us the optional 2 in 1 WS-P-REG-KIT Pre-filter/Regenerating Kit to easily regenerate.
BUILT TOUGH Designed in California and built with high grade NSF materials, this mini mighty unit will keep on producing great soft water for years to come. The tank inner shell is made of high grade Polyethylene and reinforced with a durable fiberglass wrap. The Polyethylene inner shell houses the NSF Certified food-grade premium resin. The unit has 3/4" high flow in/out Garden Hose ports with a removable head and comes fully assembled with riser tube and premium top and bottom distributors.
READY FOR USE The standard garden hose connections allow it to easily connect between the park faucet and your RV, Boat or Pressure Washer. The unit comes fully assembled, charged and ready for use and requires no tools or electricity to operate and get started. Included is a female to female adapter to allow you to backwash the unit when regenerating without the optional WS-P-REG-KIT 2 in 1 prefilter/regenerating kit.

  • PREMIUM PRO FEATURES: Wide 10-3/8" base for maximum stability on uneven surfaces. High Flow ports for minimal pressure drop and 5 GPM flow. The 16,000 grain capacity will provide up to 40 days (2,000 gallons) of softened water depending on your hardness and usage. Additional female adapter included for backwash (WS-P-REG-KIT kit available for faster regeneration). Conditions Well or City water. Reduces Calcium, Magnesium, Iron, Lead, Radium and other Heavy Metals. Ready for use in 5... Show User Reviews

    User Reviews

    Bought about a month ago and just had opportunity to install. After a day’s use, I can’t say I notice any difference. While it’s supposed to come fully charged and ready for use, after several uses including washing the car, a shower, and other activities, I decided to regenerate the device since the car was full of hard water spots that I’ll have to run through a car wash to clean it off. Per instructions, I bought 4 pounds of table salt to regenerate and we also bought the regeneration and filter kit. For regeneration, the kit only holds 2 pounds of salt. Do I need to stop in the middle of regeneration and reload it? After regeneration, i ran the water through the kitchen faucet for about 10 minutes to get the water clear from a milky white appearance. I also took another shower and once again notice no difference in the water. I’ll keep trying to get better results but at this point, I recommend an alternate system.
    This suckers amazing! After spending 90 days on the road on our motor coach, we soon realized the water at campgrounds is very unpredictable and 4 days with rusty water will ruin the sink and fixtures. We used this about 40 days and it performed wonderful. I haven’t regenerated it yet, but will now that we are home. It’s a bit heavy to lift in and out of the basement but I’m young and it’s worth it. I’m sure they all weigh the same. Would but again!
    This device is wonderful. Finally a shower in my RV with nice slippery water and soap suds! Works great so far. Water pressure drop slightly but not enough to concern me. Actually helps with showering because thew slight flow reduction extends the time you have hot water from the little 5gal heater!! I will recommend this product to anyone who uses their RV fully.

    View all reviews

On The Go OTG3NTP3M Portable Water Softener

★★★★★
$199.60  in stock
Amazon.com
as of 10/03/2021 22:53

Here’s what we found out:

Manufacturer ‎ON THE GO
Part Number ‎OTG3NTP3M
Item Weight ‎18 pounds
Product Dimensions ‎7 x 19.5 x 7.3 inches
Item model number ‎OTG3NTP3M
Is Discontinued By Manufacturer ‎No
Item Package Quantity ‎1
Batteries Included? ‎No
Batteries Required? ‎No
Package length 7.0"
Package Width 24.25"
Package Height 7.3"

  • Removes Dirt, Paint, Rust, And Scale
  • Package length: 7.0"
  • Package Width: 24.25"
  • Package Height: 7.3"
Show User Reviews

User Reviews

I'm a full time RVr and have had some severe hard water issues on the road in some of the RV parks This solved the problem. Water hardness went from 425+ down to zero. I have only had the unit for about four weeks & will do the 1st regeneration next week with table salt & figure it'll cost me less than $1. I bought the smaller unit because of the size & weight factor knowing that I'll have to regenerate it more often. Taking a shower is now so much more enjoyable, hair isn't all tangled & I don't feel scummy when drying off. I highly reccommend it if you're an RVr.
Works great and easy to set up. Makes a huge difference to the hard water in our park. Others have come to see it and have purchased one as well. The only thing I would consider is whether to get the larger size but wanting to keep the weight down for travelling, we opted for the standard unit so its personal preference. Full time living with this unit we get about 5-7 days between generations on extremely hard water.
This is my third water softener. The first was a small Watts and the second was a 10,000 Watts. I couldn't handle the large one. This model has a rope handle! Easy to carry ! It is also easy to drain the water out, easy to regen. I wish I had gotten this one to begin with. Could have saved a lot of money.

View all reviews

On The Go OTG4-VM-DBLSOFT Portable Compact Double Standard 16,000 Grain Water Softener w/Brass Fittings, Back-Flush Adapter for RV/Marine Models

★★★★★
 in stock
Amazon.com
as of 10/03/2021 22:53

Here’s what we found out:

Manufacturer ‎On The Go
Style ‎Brass Fittings
MORE WATER This 16,000-grain unit is a perfect fit and supplies approx. 40% more soft water than most units on the market for your RV/Marine
COMPACT DESIGN Its compact and space-saver design allows it to be installed in the tightest of places; Can be easily stored in your storage bay or dock side locker
NO ELECTRICITY REQUIRED Requires no tools or electricity; Utilizes a standard hose connection between park faucet and your RV/Marine
IMPROVES TASTE & ODOR Provides soft water that prevents hard water and rust stains, avoids scale build-up, and improves taste and odor, , increases lifespan of appliances, and will also improve rough, dry skin while increasing the lathering of soaps

  • MORE WATER: This 16,000-grain unit is a perfect fit and supplies approx. 40% more soft water than most units on the market for your RV/Marine
  • SOFT WATER: Provides the owner with soft water up to 1600 gallons (or up to 40 days); Flow rate: 3 gpm
  • COMPACT DESIGN: Its compact and space-saver design allows it to be installed in the tightest of places; Can be easily stored in your storage bay or dock side locker
  • NO ELECTRICITY REQUIRED: Requires no tools or... Show User Reviews

    User Reviews

    We've only used the softener twice so far but both times it worked like a charm. We camped at state parks in Michigan where the water can be on the hard side. You can also hook it up when you fill the tank for rustic camping to give you soft water in the tank or as we did on city. It uses plain old table salt which is inexpensive and easy to find. The construction and design are very well thought out. We bought the double which is too heavy for my wife to lug around and hook up so make sure you really need it, otherwise I would recommend the single. The only reason I am giving it four stars is because of the weight.
    We’ve been full time RVing for 3 months now. Got this about a month into it. We were at a campground in which the water was very hard! Was worried we’d get a ton of buildup in our RV. We’re from Phx originally and were used to hard water there. We installed a whole home water softener there and made a difference. We thought we could give this a try!! It is an investment, but much cheaper in the long run when you don’t have to fix appliance or worst-plumbing!When we started out, we were using a small inline filter. Don’t think it was making a big difference. After talking to a few different people who owned them, we decided to buy one. Glad we did. We definitely saw a HUGE difference in our water. I have long hair and immediately felt the difference - post shower. We did buy the one with the metal connections - felt like it would be more durable We bought the larger one and It is heavy, too heavy for me to pick up. If you are older, opt for the smaller one. I like the fact that you can use regular table salt. We also bought other filters that we connect from the campground water connection then the softener. Water tastes amazing!! We also get a lot of question about our set up - I think we may have influenced a few people to buy this!! If you have doubts...don’t!!! It’s worth it!!We did have some questions when we got the softener, called customer service and they answered them quickly & professionally!!Worth the investment!!
    Nothing to dislike.Word of advice, when you are ready to regenerate, pour dry salt directly into the unit, do not pre-mix it with water as recommended in the instructions...

    View all reviews

Camco TastePURE Portable Water Softener | Helps Reduce The Hardness of Your RV or Boat's Water | Features a Compact Design (40655)

$199.60  in stock
Amazon.com
as of 10/03/2021 22:53

Here’s what we found out:

Manufacturer ‎Camco
Brand ‎Camco
Model ‎Camco
Item Weight ‎24.8 pounds
Package Dimensions ‎22.72 x 17.24 x 10.08 inches
Country of Origin ‎USA
Item model number ‎40655
Manufacturer Part Number ‎40655
Cover Included ‎(1) portable water softener, (50) test strips, (1) 4-foot hose and (1) male-to-male hose fitting for regeneration; Garden hose plug and cap keep contents secure during transportation and storage
Provides Softer Water Ready-to-use portable water softener reduces the hardness of your RV or boat's water
Premium Ion Exchange Resin Softens your water
Includes (1) portable water softener, (50) test strips, (1) 4-foot hose and (1) male-to-male hose fitting for regeneration; Garden hose plug and cap keep contents secure during transportation and storage
Note For external use only; Regenerates with (2) boxes of common table salt (not included)

  • Provides Softer Water: Ready-to-use portable water softener reduces the hardness of your RV or boat's water
  • Premium Ion Exchange Resin: Softens your water
  • Compact, Space-Saving Design: Allows storage in tight spaces; Features: A large mouth opening for adding salt for regeneration and a convenient carry handle for easy transportation
  • Includes: (1) portable water softener, (50) test strips, (1) 4-foot hose and (1) male-to-male hose fitting for regeneration;... Show User Reviews

Mobile-Soft-Water Portable 16,000 Grain (tm) Unit with Tank, Tank Head, Lead Free NSF 61 Male GHC Tank Connections, Distributor, Resin and Instructions. Used in Rv & Car Wash Applications.

★★★★★
$279.95  in stock
Amazon.com
as of 10/03/2021 22:53

Here’s what we found out:

Manufacturer ‎HydroTec Systems Company, Inc.
Brand ‎Mobile-Soft-Water
Item Weight ‎33 pounds
Product Dimensions ‎10 x 10 x 21.63 inches
Item model number ‎MSW 16Kgr Portable Softener-Clack Head
Is Discontinued By Manufacturer ‎No
Manufacturer Part Number ‎MSW0918-M-16S-C
Folding ‎No

  • 16,000 grains Total Hardness Removal Portable and Manual
  • Removes Total Hardness and Soluble Iron
  • Suitable for Recreational Vehicle Use
  • LEAD FREE USEPA, NSF61 Approved Water Connections
  • Includes Manual
Show User Reviews

User Reviews

I like the softener and it was much less expensive than look a like competition. Customer service seems good too. Alas, while on the road within 4 times of use the nylon NPT to Garden Hose fittings became cross threaded and unusable. Do yourself a favor and buy brass fittings - 1 NPT to make garden hose and 1 NPT to female garden hose - about $15 at Home Depot plumbing section. They install easily but do not forget the teflon tape or pipe dope. DO NOT OVER TIGHTEN.
Great little unit. I use it for my fifth wheel. Some of the places i go have terrible water and this makes it bearable. Unit is easy to regenerate. Any questions I've had, I get an immediate and well educated response. I think its the owner that answers the phone. Even when he misses your call, he will call you back. He is more than willing to help you trouble shoot or get what you need.
Been looking for an inexpensive water softener for my Lazzara yacht. This seemed to fit the bill. Easy to install if you remember to buy all the accessory connecting parts. The description does not mention the parts you need but other reviews alerted me. Once installed, works great for showers, washing clothes, dishwasher and a boat wash down that leaves no spots. However, drinking the water is not recommended unless you like a “stale taste and odor.” Solved the problem by installing a diverted valve which allows me to change from soft water to regular tap when filling water bottles. Just have to let the water run a bit to clear the lines or you get that funky taste. A bit of a pain but the gain of having soft water is worth the minor inconvenience. Just wish there had been something in the other reviews and the description to alert me so I could have bought all the accessories I needed to connect it at once.

View all reviews

Watts RV PRO-1000 OR M7002 10000 Grains Portable Water Softener

★★★★★
$214.85  in stock
Amazon.com
as of 10/03/2021 22:53

Here’s what we found out:

Manufacturer ‎Watts
Brand ‎Watts Water Technologies
Item Weight ‎9 pounds
Product Dimensions ‎22 x 10 x 10 inches
Country of Origin ‎China
Item model number ‎RV PRO-1000 OR M7002
Is Discontinued By Manufacturer ‎No
Manufacturer Part Number ‎RVPRO1000ORM7002

  • Built-in drain line flow restrictor provides a more effective regeneration increasing the capacity by up to 55%
  • Custom designed flow valves allow regeneration without having to connect/disconnect the system
  • Full cradle base keeps tank more secure than cometing open base tanks. Hardness strips included
  • High flow rates up to 4 GPM with low pressure drop
  • Uses common table salt
Show User Reviews

User Reviews

I'm currently living full time in my RV. We were here at the RV park only a month or so when I noticed build up in the water connectors. I found this portable water softener on line. It came ready to use, I didn't have to "charge" it. Just hooked it inline with the city water supplied at the RV park. What a difference! My wife was very pleased having soft water because we have a washer in the RV. She says it makers all the difference having soft water to wash clothes. I noticed it in the shower, the soap lathered up so much better than with the hard water.My biggest concern was how long the soft water would last before it would require "regeneration" (adding more salt). It comes with test strips so that you can monitor the hardness of the water, but I could actually feel the difference when the unit needed regeneration. It's lasted a month and that's with two people in the household with a clothes washer. The regeneration process was simple to do and required only 2 pounds of salt.I'm very satisfied with the unit. I'd highly recommended it to any fellow RVer.This is a follow up to my original review.I had the water softner 6 weeks before it started leaking around the seal in the top of the unit. Not around the hose connections but in the manufactured seal. I notified Amazon and at first they told me I had to go through the Flow-Pur company but after pushing them a little, they told me that they would send me a new unit and arranged for pickup of the defective one.After connecting the replacement water softner, it leaked in two places. One from the brass inlet connection. Inspection showed the threads were fouled. It looked like they were stripped. I had to replace it with a new one. Also the "Y" valve would not turn off on the drain side. I took it off and connected the outlet hose directly to the output of the Fill Port. Now no leaks.So I've taken back my original 5 star rating. The first unit sprung a leak, and the replacement softner had two bad parts on it from the get-go. I'll see if this unit lasts longer than 6 weeks. If not, I'll ask Amazon for a refund.One good thing is Amazon customer service. It is as always great! I buy just about everything through them just for that reason. They are so good to work with if there is a problem.BillOk, it's been several months now using the second water softener. After I replaced the defective parts that were with the unit, I'd have to say I'm an very pleased with the unit. The first one started leaking after a couple of weeks and Amazon sent me a replacement. The replacement has had not one problem. I'm giving back my original 5 star rating. We really like having soft water and this unit has performed well.Bill
The wife and I are full time Rv'ers.We are traveling out west and have encounter that every campground we are staying at has extremely hard water. Of course we all know the lime damage using hard water over time can do to the coach and especially to the electric hot water heater. I have always been skeptical about purchasing a softener, because I was concerned that there may be salt in the water supply and of course wondered would it work? Knowing that Amazon stands behind their sales I decided to make this purchase and we are glad I did.The softener has been in operation now for one full month in this hard water environment and it has exceeded our expectations. We have a washer and dryer, dishwasher and use the shower in our coach and after a full months operation I had to regenerate it for the first time today. Regeneration was also a consideration because it states you need to run fresh water through the unit for 20 minutes to rinse the salt out of it and I was concerned about wasting water, but again I was very pleased to see that do to the units design it uses very little water to regenerate. If your considering purchasing this unit I hope this review helps.
Gotta say, this is a great softener. That said, full satisfaction starts with understanding how water softeners work, and realizing this is NOT a $1000 or more big-name whole house system, but a small, convenient, portable RV-type system, to start with. I mean, it works just as well as a $1000 unit, but you have to manually regen it, and you have to regen more frequently than a large house-sized unit.In a whole house system, you have a seperate brine tank, most likely you have automatic timers or controls to backflush, rinse, etc., and you simply put salt in the brine tank and walk away. Water still too hard, you change the settings on the controller and again forget it. NOT THIS UNIT. You work it, you flush it, you backflush and rinse it YOURSELF. It does require you to manually change over hoses (or to rig up the manifold outside) to do these standard operations yourself.Everyone who gave this unit negative complaints that I saw, made the same complaint - that the orange 'Y' valve broke on them, started leaking, and after they replaced it, that they couldn't get their softness back down to acceptable levels. To them, and to any who would buy this I say, LOOK AT THE ORANGE 'Y' VALVE and notice that white reducer orifice inside one of the openings. That is your regen path to the sewer drop. If your 'Y' valve broke, you STILL have to put that reducer orifice back into the new 'Y' you replace it with, or have to reduce your opening to nearly-nothing, to get backpressure to work the salt in the tank during regen. You can't just run to the store, put any 'Y' there, and make it work. That 'Y' is a serious part of your regen process. Personally, the 'Y' felt solid and decent quality (for plastic) to me, and I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND getting a nice brass Camco pressure reducer to put upstream of your tank, anyhow (since RV parks are KNOWN for using VERY HIGH WATER PRESSURE, like 80-lbs instead of the recommended 45-55 lbs). If water pressure is failing your 'Y', then it is also too high to be going in the tank, or your plumbing, anyhow. REDUCE YOUR WATER PRESSURE!Overall, this system is working great for me. I have now had it inline for over a week, just regen'd it, and it took water in the 700-ppm range down to less than 25 PPM (somewhere less than 1 gpg). I can live with that, my soap suds work again!It is rated at 10,000 grains of hardness. If your water is 142 GPG, that means you can run about 80 gallons of water through it before you have to go through regeneration. If your water is 270 GPG (in the Desert Southwest, yes, it can actually hit this hard - like liquid chalk in your water pipes), then you have about 40-gallons of water before refresh. Again, this is ideal, but when your water is hard, over 100 GPG, even the big name guys will tell you, you will NOT get it down to zero - it's just too hard.As for quality of performance? This thing works like the $1000 big name softener guys' product - as long as you wash, rinse, repeat often - in compliance with just how hard your water is. Trying to run 500-gallons of 250-GPG water through it before regeneration is SURE going to take more than one cycle to clean your styrene tank! Be for real, it is most-likely buried in tons of calcium or magnesium at that point. If you can't get your hardness down after regen, then re-run your cycle again. You still have calcium on your styrene beads in the black tank (the salt rinses those beads, which are ion-positive, which capture the calcium).See, knowing a lot about how something works will take you far in how to diagnose your problems when they happen. I don't know about the test strips that come with it, I've used the aftermarket strips - and again, pretty much any water over 200 GPG is insanely hard, so I only test-strip the 'softened water', and I can get it down to less than 1 gpg (25-PPM) after a regen, so that's awesome. Water super insane hard? Buy two, and run them in series - that will get you down to zero.

View all reviews

Rv Water Softener – The Buyer’s Guide & FAQ:

1. Does it have the features you require?

Before you buy Rv Water Softener, be sure again that it has all the features listed in your needs list! If some options are missing, it’s better to search for an alternative.

We always suggest that our editors create a list of important attributes before adding a product to the list and rank it based on these attributes, the quality of the product and the brand warranty!

At the same time if you find a Rv Water Softener that has all you need, maybe in that case you should not mind paying a little more. That’s why it’s important to make a list that includes the features you’re looking for, decide your budget and specifications (if any).

2. Read product reviews

A simple way to obtain the best product is to look at reviews of that product. Buying guides and reviews can help you learn a lot about the product you are planning to buy. If you want important and relevant information about a Rv Water Softener, read user reviews based on real experiences with a particular product. They will help you decide on your purchase.

3. Budget and Price Match

Odds are you won’t be able to purchase the best Rv Water Softener with a very low budget. That is why it’s important to write down all of the important features, specifications, and price range. Once you’ve done that, look for products that either equal or close to your budget.

Try to follow your budget, but bear in mind that during your search you may see a version that’s slightly better and has an extra feature with a really small difference in cost. If it’s worth it, you should probably raise your budget.

About Promotions and Discounts

When comparing prices on merchandise, your aim is to buy the best product at the best price. While some shoppers will willingly spend their money on discounts and cheap items, others will be more cautious of those”too good to be true” offers and discounts. The best way to save your money is to compare prices and quality of items at different online stores.

4. Always read product descriptions carefully

Not reading the item description before buying is a serious mistake. The problem with many online shoppers now is they make the majority of their buying decisions based on the product image displayed. They don’t take the time to browse the complete product description. To avoid disappointment with your purchase, always check all the information about an item before adding it to your cart. Don’t be fooled by photoshop-edited images that could distort the actual appearance of the product.

5. Warranty and Brand

Most of the experts we consulted told us to always purchase Rv Water Softener, from a reputable brand. They also asked us to write in our buyer’s guide that purchasing Rv Water Softener from unknown brands or from untrustworthy companies is almost never worth the savings.

In the end, Rv Water Softener from an unknown brand could be cheap but extremely low quality and hard to fix.

Another benefit of purchasing Rv Water Softener from a reputable brand is the guarantee. Most Rv Water Softener from respectable brands come with a great warranty. Cheap products have a warranty too, but it can be very difficult to claim it. So buy models from reputable brands with a good warranty.

Our decision:

– So, the best Rv Water Softener, in our opinion, is Essential RV Water Softener Portable 16,000 Grain w Custom Hose, Long Lasting for RVers Vanlife, 3/4″ Fittings, Softens Hard Water When Traveling or Mobile Spot Reducing Car Washing.

– Similar in features to the best, but probably a little more affordable, is AO Smith Whole House Salt Free Water Descaler – Water Softener Alternative – 6yr, 600,000 Gl – AO-WH-DSCLR.

– The best in terms of value for money, we pick On The Go OTG4-DBLSOFT-Portable 16,000 Grain RV Water Softener.

You may be interested:

RV Water Softeners - Are They Worth It?

If you have a water filtration solution that works for your RV, do you...

Share.

Jeremy Williamson is the senior editor writing about travel, camping gear and RV accessories. He previously worked at The Awl and Popular Mechanics magazines; before that, he restored historic houses and mowed lawns for a living. A man with too many hobbies, he’s currently engrossed in leatherwork, and he might make you a wallet if you ask nicely.

Comments are closed.

Scroll Up